top of page

About Theta NU OMEGA 

On February 4, 1967, Theta Nu Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated was chartered in Fort Myers, Florida. The fifteen charter members had been meeting for a year under the leadership of Carrie Robinson, who was elected the first chapter president. The first chapter project was a sickle cell awareness program.


Theta Nu Omega Chapter has supported the international programs of the sorority and has provided activities that were designed to enhance the lives of the youth and elderly of Southwest Florida. Community service, providing opportunities for higher education, social, ethical and moral growth and enhancing the self-concept of minorities, provide the nucleus of the Chapter’s programs.


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® was founded January 15, 1908, by nine students on the campus of Howard University. The Sorority was incorporated in 1913. Alpha Kappa Alpha is the oldest Greek-letter organization established by African American college women. The efforts and services of the membership are dedicated to improving the social and economic conditions in their communities.


Today Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated is comprised of more than 950 chapters located in the United States, the Caribbean, Canada, Germany, Korea, and Japan. For more information, visit Alpha Kappa Alpha's International Website.

bottom of page